There are K-Pop fans across the globe who share the same passion. But on online platforms, it is hard to know about each other’ stories and K-Pop life. Even if we are in the same fandom, it is hard to get to know each other. So at Kpopmap, we started the Kpopmap Fan Interview Project to get to know more about K-Pop fans from different countries: more about their K-Pop life and tastes and to give them the opportunity to share with our readers about their favorite group(s) and bias.   Anj is the next fan to answer our questions. She is from the Philippines and is a fan of UP10TION’s Kim WooSeok. Check out how she entered the fandom, the songs and content she advises to new fans, and much more!  Can you introduce yourself? Where are you from? Hello! I’m Anj, a Nia from the Philippines.

  How and when did you enter the fandom? I started to stan Kim WooSeok on “Produce X 101”. He caught my attention when a fancam of him performing to ‘Love Shot’ by EXO, popped on my recommendation videos on YouTube. From then on I’ve been following and supporting him and became a Jjallangdan (our fandom name that time) until he debuted solo and we are given a name, “Nia”.   What are the reasons why you love your favorite artist? There are a lot of reasons why I love Kim WooSeok. Aside from the fact that he is handsome (lol), a good performer, have a soothing, honey-like voice… He is a funny, sweet and appreciative person. He never forgets how he started and always appreciate the fans’ efforts. I can really feel his sincerity whenever he talks to us through his lives, not to mention his words of wisdom which really touch my heart. He really is good in drawing too which always amazes me. He is a hardworking person, he writes and compose his own songs. And he is also a sweet fur-daddy to his cute dogs Ddadda and Ppoppo.   Can you recommend a title track and a B-side track for new fans? I love both of his title track but for new fans, I recommend ‘SUGAR’. It’s my personal favorite, a fun and cute song that you can dance to.   While for the B-track, all of his B-track is good but I think I will recommend ‘Do U Like’ from his 1st album and ‘Better’ from his 2nd album, for new fans.     I know he will still release new good tracks so please stay tune on his comeback this March 7th!   Can you recommend a fancam, V Live, cover video, cover dance, or individual content video of your favorite artist to our readers? I do have a few recommended videos. First, is his reality show “WooSeok’s Unboxing”. All episodes of it is really fun to watch especially those videos where he plays with his dogs, Ddadda and Ppoppo which is really cute.   Second, is his performance on “King of Masked Singer” (‘I Will Give You Everything’) since I am a fan of ballads.   Third is his ‘To My Youth’ performance on “Produce X 101” which really made me shed tears and the performance that really made me into him. All his V Lives is a must watch too!   Can you share with us one of your favorite lyrics? This is from his song ‘Beautiful’. It says:   “I’ll be your stars and shine your way Don’t forget the seasons.”   And also a lyrics from his song ‘Memories’ with Lee EunSang:   “Forever with you, no matter what I’ll remember you.”   Since your favorite artist is also acting, can you recommend dramas starring them for new fans? Kim WooSeok recently just started acting on dramas. I highly recommend new fans to watch “Twenty Twenty” a webdrama which is a part of the “A-Teen” webdrama series where he plays the role of the main lead, Lee HyunJin. And of course, his recent drama, “Bulgasal: Immortal Souls”, a historical, fantasy drama where he plays the role of Nam DoYoon.   Do you have an all-time favorite scene? Can you describe it or share a video? I think my most favorite scene is from “Twenty Twenty”, Episode 3 where he said:   “Why are you so worried? Just do what you want to do. It feels like its not a big deal after you do it.”   It was also his first kissing scene so it’s really memorable!   What genre do you want them to appear in? What’s the reason? I know Kim WooSeok will do well no matter what genre he plays and I know he will still grow as an actor but since he already did a romance, teen drama and historical fantasy drama. I really wanted him to appear on a psychological, thriller, suspense genre. I feel like he would do really better on it since he is also known of his duality, a silent, funny and sweet characteristic but a charismatic, sexy person on stage.   What kind of influence has your favorite artist had on your daily life? He really made a huge impact in my life. He made me realize that no matter how hard life is, even when you reach rock-bottom, NEVER GIVE UP, get back on your feet and start again. He brings me comfort when I am struggling in real life. He’s my escape when things get hard and an inspiration to be a better version of myself because that’s how he is.   What is your favorite side of fangirling? My favorite side, aside from stanning Kim WooSeok is fun yet a bit chaotic in a good way, is the part where I meet new friends and other Nias from all over the world. We may have different nationalities, we may have been speaking different languages or dialect, but we still come together to work for our love for Kim WooSeok. Streaming, hyping him up, even screaming and gushing together of how handsome Kim WooSeok is. LOL!   Do you feel there are any misunderstandings, things that are not well known, or any prejudices about your favorite artist from other fans (non-fans)? I think many have known Kim WooSeok or have the first impression of Kim WooSeok as just a handsome, pretty face with an intimidating and calm personality but in reality he is a really sweet, funny, goofy and chaotic guy that is loveable, full of wisdom and have a poetic/artistic side of him. Every time I feel like I’m always learning something new from him.   Are there any quotes by your favorite artist that you like to share? This is not really a quote but I feel a lot can relate to this. This is on “Produce X 101: Camp Pick” where they did an activity and drew themselves. He describes himself as “A flower growing strong along with the burning fire and since the flower was born with fire, it can never be burned or be extinguished” meaning no matter what he will stand strong amidst any struggles.

  Anj, plesae share your message for Kim WooSeok. To our dearest Kim WooSeok,   I have always been thankful that you came into my life. Thank you for giving me inspiration to walk through life and being my source of comfort when life gets hard.   Remember, that I will always be here for you, walking with you, no matter which path you take on your career. I will always be rooting because I’m your Nia, a flower who will bloom with you through all your seasons. 💗   I wish you all the best in life and I hope that you will have a really successful comeback! 💗 Thank you for answering our questions, Anj.   If you are interested in joining Kpopmap Fan Interview Project, please get in touch with us at [email protected] Everyone is welcome to participate.  

Kpopmap Fan Interview: A Malaysian Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok & The Reasons Why She Loves Him by FANS|Mar 4, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: A Nepali Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Jung HaeIn & The Reasons Why She Loves Him by FANS|Mar 3, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: A Australian FANTASY Talks About SF9 & Her Bias RoWoon, Starting Her Journey With “The King’s Affection” by FANS|Mar 2, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indian AROHA Is Grateful To ASTRO To Be ASTRO by FANS|Mar 1, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk & The Reasons Why She Loves Him by FANS|Feb 28, 2022

Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 98Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 75Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 55Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 18Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 96Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 36Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 79Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 35Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 71Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 13Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 82Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 38Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 39Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 87Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 41Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 9Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 56Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 20Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 19Kpopmap Fan Interview  A Filipino Nia Talks About Her Favorite Artist Kim WooSeok   The Reasons Why She Loves Him - 88